Till its dark: Drizzle

Run little one, run

The demons are coming to play

Clouds full of tears, heavy and fat

Drizzle before Deluge

Shifting beneath a thousand moons

The rogue winds roar

Soaring above a thousand peaks

The sleeping fiends soar

The shark calls the sea it’s home

The falcon preens it’s plume

Within the sealed temple dome

The wicked spirits fume

I swear upon my failing heart

Safe from the ill showers

and the menacing squalls

This life shall remain.

I lived in an old wooden shack as a child with my grandmother; this was due to my parents having died shortly after my birth. My childhood was pleasantat least the parts that I remember, the one thing i do remember clearly is: When it rained my grandmother would recite a little poem. I only remember a few words of it but what I do remember was that it scared me every single time. I still don’t know why. I recall once asking her to stop and perhaps, to show me what would happen if she did she honoured my request. It was horrible, in a matter of minutes my body was wracked with the most horrible pain I’ve ever felt, the most horrific pain I hope I’ll ever have to feel. The pain didn’t last long though, my grandma had resumed reciting the poem and I was fine soon after. I never asked why this happened, or maybe i did ask and was ignored. I don’t remember. I do remember  that she recited it less and less as I grew older and the rain was more persistent. By the time my sixteenth birthday came around the rain had become omnipresent and the poem recitations stopped completely.

I live in a town called Umere. It was once much larger, but shrank every year as the rain increased in volume. Nowadays the town is a shadow of it’s former self, the sun-dried carcass of a once healthy and majestic bird of prey. Due to the constant rain, the town, once interspersed with farmland, barely produces any grain of it’s own. We are forced to buy our grain from neighboring villages and the capital city of the region. . . at obviously heavily marked-up prices. We survive though, albeit barely, due tot he fact that we have the largest and most comprehensive library in the province and we charge visiting scholars for the priviledge to use it. This library is free for townsfolk, and I do not approve of people having to pay for knowledge, but it’s wither that or starve and I prioritize my stomach over my heartat least in this particular case.

The homeless litter the rain soaked gutters and drains that lead into the canals that were once our pride. They are largely water magi whom, somewhat ironically, were once the leaders of the town- when it was still a barren ghost town. They are outcasts now due in part to their uselessness in the current situation and mostly because they are blamed for it by the ordinary townsfolk which I don’t understand as they gain no benefit from ruining the town.Most of them have left the town , but the few that remain haunt the town’s rain-soaked alleys and gutters, enduring unending abuse and hatred, all for the love of their birthplace.

Courtesy of Emma, the baker’s girland resident town gossip, it appears that the town council with help from famous scholars and Magi, are getting close to discovering what exactly is the cause of all this. It’s only taken nineteen years. Some rumours say it is a spell cast on the town by one of the many magi banished from the town 18 years ago. Yet another rumour states that this  is what happens when a magi with tremendous innate strength is left unaware and thus has never been trained to stifle the passive effects his power has on his environment. I don’t believe that last rumour as itaccording to the little I know about magic and mages, would require a mage of insane magical strength to manifest an effect like thisstrength enough to rival the Archmagi over in Sept.

I can feel the excitement in the air as I step out into the streets. It seemed everyone had a smile on their faceeven the normally surly beggar Raz smiled at me as I passed him on my way to the library. You see, a week ago the mayor announced that the scholars and Magi had finally figured out the reasons for the endless rain. Today was the day that the findings were to be officially disclosed, now that it think about it, Raz would be happy wouldn’t he? This could potentially clear his name and that of all the other water magi. Yet another reason to look forward to the announcement. Raz had always been nice to me, he said he had known my mother, back when she was still alive. It didn’t stop him from ignoring me when I asked him about her though. There were rumours that they had already pinpointed a culprit and would also be judging them today, in the town hall, in about seven hours. Leaving me with enough time to get to the library and poke around the section on Magic and mages, both to sate my curiosity and also to escape being dragged to the forge by my grandma, bless her heart. I walked into the library, greeted the old librarian Missus Mune and climbed up the spiral staircase that led to Nuso Tower where the tomes on Magic, Magi and Templars were kept.

